White Heron Studio?




White Heron Studio?

Originally uploaded by marycallegretti

The story is so long I don’t know where to start. Lets see, I was young, college age, and I was on a sailing trip to a regatta at the Lake of the Woods, Ontario, Canada. Met someone who was very special, let him get away. At any rate, he remained friends with my dad and came to the 90th birthday party. As a gift he brought my dad the transom from the first A scow he purchased as a donor boat. Apparently dad had helped him find this boat and it made his venture into scow sailing possible. He has kept that transom all these years. So giving it to my dad was a sacrafice and tells me even then I was a good judge of character, what a special guy. Then dad gave me the transom. I am not sure why and I did not consider for one minute not accepting. It has been mounted over my studio door. I believe the karma will be fabulous. This spot may need a rename. I will have to think that over a bit but for the time being, my art place has a very zen like appearance and feel. I am thankful for the small gifts in life,

2 Responses

  1. OH, I think White Heron Studio has a beautiful sound, rolls off the tongue. Stick with it! Or to it, whichever you prefer.

  2. not sure why dad gave you the transom??? Hmmm

Leave a comment